In defense of Power Anthems…pt deux…

Hans Zimmer may be credited with starting the trend, but Steve Jablonsky has mastered the craft.

His collected scores for the Transformers franchise include many of the coolest power anthems I have ever heard…

From those heroic Horns to the epic percussion, and then the driving rhythms of the strings…spectacular…

He created the perfect musical palette for these ridiculous stories about Giant f$%@ing robots blowing stuff up…

As each film grew in scale, so did the music…

The stories seem to make less and less sense, but then who goes to see a movie like this for the story…

I honestly like the music more than the films themselves…especially the TF: The Last Knight. The power in the final cues…especially “Did You Forget Who I am” and “Calling All Autobots” which take the Prime and Autobot themes to another level…

I am not sure how he can top those, or if he’ll even try. But I hope that he does…I look forward to his music as much as i do the music for Star Wars: The Last Jedi.

And you know what…it’s ok to like both kinds of film music. And it’s ok if you don’t.

“Sameness is the mother of disgust, Variety the Cure…”

Leave a comment