Posted in My Artwork, Star Trek

Pioneer Class Federation Starship – Schematics

Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood

I designed this almost 16 years ago. It’s the only ship i have ever designed with this level of detail. This is my original Pioneer Class Starship from Star Trek. Meant to be an exploration cruiser in the time period between Star Trek: The Original Series and Star Trek: The Motion Picture, you can see some of the similarities she shares with the refit Consitution Class. Overall, I was very pleased with the design, except for the warp nacelles, they need a little work.

Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood

I originally drew the side view and top view in pencil, then inked them…and then the real fun began. I drew them on such a large scale that I couldnt scan them, so I had to take a snapshot on the ‘ol digital camera, then uploaded it into onto my PC…and then went from their using an Ancient Photoshop program’s basic drawing tools to create all of these views.

Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood

Every now and then i think about revisiting this and fixing the things i dont like about it…maybe giving it its own refit…

Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood
Art by Collin J Wood

pioneer71 pioneer6

Leave a Reply

